Ben Webster, Johnny Hodges – The Complete 1960 Sextet Jazz Cellar Session

Johnny Hodges and Ben Webster became friends when they played together in Duke Ellington’s fabulous band of the early Forties. Here they show that their feeling of kinship hasn’t gone away, nearly twenty years after Webster abruptly left the band.

Anytime you put two of the Duke’s hornmen together, you’ll get magic. The first 12 tracks are from the 60’s meeting. Besides tenor and alto, we have Lou Levy on piano, Herb Ellis on guitar, Wilfred Middlebrooks on bass, and Gus Johnson on drums. Tracks 13-17 has Ray Nance on trumpet, Lawrence Brown on trombone, Emil Richards on vibes, Russ Freeman on piano, Joe Mondragon on bass, Mel Lewis on drums, and arranged by Jimmy Hamilton, in Los Angeles, January 31, 1961.

Track Listing
01 Ben’s Web
02 Side Door (Don’t Kid Yourself)
03 Blues’ll Blow Your Fuse
04 I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
05 Dual Highway
06 Big Ears
07 Shorty Gull
08 Ifida
09 Big Smack
10 I’d Be There
11 Just Another Day
12 Lollalagin Now
13 Exactly Like You
14 I’m Beginning To See The Light
15 Val’s Lament
16 Tipsy Joe
17 Waiting On The Champagne