Joe Louis’ Perfect Cross Explained – Technique Breakdown

Joe Louis’ How to Box: http://amzn.to/2tQyIzi Joe Louis was perhaps the most technically skilled boxer to ever rule the heavyweight devision. He reigned as the heavy weight champion for an astounding 12 years, and had 52 wins by KO. Many of them came by way of his flawless cross.

Luois’ style of fighting was minimalistic, and he was incredibly patient. He would make incremental adjustments of mere inches to get his proffered distance, and wait until the most opportune time. If Louis wasn’t sure he could land a knockout with his cross at that exact moment, he simply didn’t throw it.

It’s ironic that one of the most technically sound and mechanically proficient boxers in history used techniques that would today be considered overly risky or even sloppy. But Luois used these power building methods with purpose and forethought. As so many modern day boxers have forgotten, without risk, there is no glory.

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/modernmartial…

About H. P. Lovelace

Pen name: Howard Phillips Lovelace (H. P. are my real initials, you guess my real name); DOB: March 27, 1990; Sex: Yes - Thank You!!!; Gender: Female; Preference: bi - interested in men and women; Fetish: S&M, B&D, H&D, "regular" sex (not a fetish unless you're bent, but included for completeness); Straight: cunnilingus, felitio, anal, vaginal (any position); Current City: Saint Louis, Missouri USA; Hometown: Eastbourne, East Sussex (left there when I was three, so don't expect the Queen's English); Blog: theendlessnight.com; Tidbit: I love cats (I tolerate dogs); Author of hardcore Vampire Noir in the tradition of Nancy Collins’ "Sonja Blue" novels: adult content, explicit sex and violence. If you’re looking for something in the vein of Anne Rice or Bram Stoker; the reading material is also gothic, erotic, and religious-themed. And, yes, there are overtones of H. P. Lovecraft and his Old Ones. Humor too. Thanks for looking.
This entry was posted in The Modern Martial Artist, Zotz!. Bookmark the permalink.